Board and Staff

The Museum is a private nonprofit 501(c)(3) corporation. The organization is overseen by a nine-member Board of Trustees

  • Julie Gibbs, Board President
  • Rev. Steve Towles, Board Vice President
  • Tom Richards, Board Treasurer
  • Courtney Beebe, Esq., Board Secretary
  • Leanne Campbell, Board Member
  • Dr. Dick Sheldon, Board Member
  • LaDonna Beaumont, Board Member
  • Joe Bohart, Board Member
  • Ali Marienau, Board Member

Executive Director, Britt Thurman, has almost a decade of experience working in the museum field. She received her BA in History from the University of Idaho and MA in Museum Studies from the University of Kansas. She has worked at museums of varying sizes in multiple parts of the country, primarily in community engagement, accessibility, education, and exhibit design.

Staff Historian, Robert Singletary, was hired in 2012. He brings local history alive through articles, lectures, and tours. He holds a BA from the University of Idaho and is a former instructor at North Idaho College and Lewis Clark College.

Development and Marketing Director, Jocelyn Whitfield-Babcock, was hired in 2019. Born and raised near Spokane, she earned a BLS in Program Management from Whitworth University and has written grants for multiple capital campaigns in the Inland Northwest.

Accountant, Lisa Turner, CPA, holds a degree in Business Administration and Accounting and is a Certified Public Accountant. She has been in the field for two decades, including working specifically with nonprofits. Her unique combination of business knowledge and technical proficiency make her a valued member of the museum’s team.